Toast

April 24, 2016 at 3:24 pm Leave a comment

Yes, it’s a very simple thing, but I do love it! I wasn’t feeling well this morning and it’s the only thing I wanted, besides a cup of plain, black tea. Toast with butter. Plain white. It helped get over that not so great feeling. It’s what Mom used to make for me and one of the best comfort foods. Mmmm, crispy toast spread with soft butter.

Which bread makes the best toast? There are soooo many options. Raisin bread, whole grain bread, cinnamon bread, and good old white bread. All you need is a toaster and some butter. And heck no to margarine. Butter is the way to go. No chemical or artificial substitutes need apply. I grew up in Dairyland and I likes me butter! Oh, and my butter sits in the cabinet in a butter dish. I know, I know, “Shouldn’t it be refrigerated?” Well, I haven’t died yet and I’ve been eating it this way since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. My house is generally cool enough to keep it in stick form.

Want to dress it up a bit? Momma would add a small amount of cinnamon and sugar and then cut the toast into “fingers.” It made it seem like a decadent treat, when all it was just buttered toast with a sweet sprinkling, cut into four pieces. You can also butter it and add your favorite jam. What’s the best jam? Homemade freezer jam. Haven’t had freezer jam? Read my previous post. You will NEVER want any other kind. Summer is coming and it’s the perfect time to make it, because ripe fruit works best. And you don’t need anything more than fruit, sugar, a box of Sure Jell Low-Sugar Fruit Pectin, and eight 8-oz. containers. It’s a no-brainer.

Get a little protein with your toast by adding a thin layer of softened cream cheese with your jam or fresh fruit, thinly sliced. You can also butter a slice on both side, cut a hole in the middle with a biscuit cutter, drop it in a fry pan, crack an egg in the hole, dust with salt and pepper, top with the buttered cut out, flip and when the egg is cooked, enjoy. You will not see me do this, because I do not like eggs.

I could eat toast anytime of day. If you use whole grain bread, you’re not just getting a bit of comfort, you’re getting fiber, something we all need.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Salad dressing Pioneer Woman’s Housewares Line

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


