Salad dressing

March 20, 2016 at 4:12 pm Leave a comment

I was never much of a salad eater, perhaps because it was the only part of the meal I was ever allowed to make…and back in the day, it consisted of iceberg lettuce, rock hard tomatoes, and waxy cucumbers. Occasionally, a bit of shredded carrot made its way into the mix and maybe a radish or two in the summer, but in my world that was basically a salad. I know you’re supposed to eat your greens and I’ve learned that I actually enjoy salads, as long as they’re interesting. What makes a salad better? Arugula, mixed greens, ripe tomatoes or grape cherry tomatoes, English cucumber, peppers, red onion, nuts, cheeses, like Feta, blue or my favorite BellaVitano from Satori, dried fruit like cherries or cranberries, and of course an amazing dressing. I often make my own, but I LOVE Beekman 1802 Happy Goat Chevre Dressing, available at Target. It’s creamy and with a hint of goat cheese flavor. Makes my mouth water, just to think of it. Really, for me, it’s the dressing that makes a salad zing!

There are so many yummy salads you can make that don’t even include lettuce, like one of Rachael Ray’s chopped salads or Trisha Yearwood’s Ty’s Thai Salad (adjust the dressing…way too much oil and sugar for me. I cut the recipe in half, but would cut the oil to about 1/3 cup and use less sugar. You can always add more.).

For homemade dressings, try:

Standard Red Wine Vinegar Dressing (the little man really likes this):

1 1/2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
Salt and pepper
1/2 teaspoon sugar (0ptional).

Combine all ingredients and whisk together or shake in a sealable jar.  The touch of sugar really makes it yummy. Pour it over your favorite salad fixings.

The Beekman Boys have a great salad dressing recipe list, too.

Summer is coming and it’s time for me to ramp up the greens and veggies! They always make me feel healthier.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Kitchen Gadgets Toast

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


