Hard Cider

October 25, 2015 at 2:20 pm Leave a comment

I never would have guessed I’d be writing this post. As someone who never liked beer and I now like interesting beer, I feel the same way about cider. Back in the olden days, the only one I ever tasted was Woodchuck, and I was not a fan. Too sweet and I just didn’t care for the flavor. Well, folks, that’s allllll changed now. I am actually a fan of cider!

About six or so years ago, my son talked to me about getting into the cider business. At the time, there were only a handful available, Woodchuck, Angry Orchard, and Crispin. Having been in England, where there were tons of options, I thought it was a good idea. And it was, but for him, that business plan didn’t pan out as planned and in the meantime, the business stateside exploded. Now, there’s a plethora of options. You can get dry champagne style cider (Crispin original and Brut are good choices) and fruity combination ciders. Some, I admit, are not that great and though this is a bit TMI, give me ‘soapy tasting burbs.’ Am I the only one who has that issue? I hope not.

So, which ciders do I like? My current fav is just about anything by Ace from California.  Which flavors do I like? Pineapple rocks my world. It is the most amazingly refreshing drink. It tastes just like pineapple! You may say, “Why drink cider that tastes like pineapple and not apple?” Because it’s really good! I like their pear, and the apple. Both are good and not overly sweet.  My next favorite is CiderBoys (from my home state of Wisconsin) Raspberry Smash. Lots of fruit and bubble and soooo flavorful. Their Peach Country, Grand Mimosa, Strawberry and Cranberry Road are wonderfully flavored, too. I can’t wait to try more from both of these companies.

The worst cider I’ve ever had was some brand of Scrumpy in England. I thought it had gone off, because it tasted like rotten fruit, but I was told, “No, that’s the way it tastes.” O-kay.

 

RaspberrySmash1Ace-Pineapple-Cider

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Alaska shows Happy 2016!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


