Grace and Frankie

May 17, 2015 at 7:02 pm 3 comments

I didn’t have much going on today, so I thought I’d watch Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin’s show Grace and Frankie on Netflix. Well, there went my day! I only got up to get something to eat or drink. I have three episodes left and I’m going to be sad when it’s over. What’s it about? Not what I expected. I read briefly that it was about two adult women trying to find their way after finding themselves suddenly single again. Well, of course, I thought it was due to their spouses (Martin Sheen and Sam Waterston) dying, but that was not the case. I won’t ruin it for you, but it is one of the best shows I’ve seen in a long time that actually deals with “women of a certain age.” And, their adult children have a story, too.

What do I like about it? The banter between Jane and Lily. They have been friends for a long time, but haven’t really been themselves with each other, which often happens. It’s like being in a new relationship and both people are on, as my mom would say, “their best behavior.” This is covered in the show. It reminds me of people’s dating experiences on Match or other dating sites. If people would just be themselves and not fabricate or stretch the truth so much, more people might find matches. This is covered, too. Speaking of Match and the like, if the only photo of the person is a bit blurry or has other people’s body parts in it, they’re using it because it doesn’t really look like them. I’ve never used Match, personally, because I do have a better half, but I have helped someone else and using a photo that doesn’t really look like you is deceptive and will certainly cause an issue when you meet face to face. Not a good way to start a friendship that might lead to more.

Back to the show…I LOVE Jane’s wardrobe and I even LOVE Lily’s. They are totally opposite. Jane is subdued and classic and Lily is flamboyant and artsy. It stuck me that I thought I liked one wardrobe over the other, but I like parts of both. Jane is pencil thin and looks good in classic outfits, though I am not a fan of the turned-up collar. She rocks rolled jeans, suits, blouses snazzed up with simple jewelry, a shawl wrap, and even what looks like a cashmere robe. Her hair is perfect. Yes, she has wrinkles and I’m sure has been tweaked a bit, but she looks amazing. Lily has few wrinkles, graying hair, and also is still in good shape. She even did a squat! I was impressed. She’s 75 years old and Jane is 77! When I look back at my grandparents who were in their seventies, they were little people who looked every minute their age. These two do not. Lily’s outfits are definitely not something you’d see on most women her age. She wears lots of flowing tops with the most amazing chunky jewelry. Kudos to Allyson B. Fanger for clothing them! The houses and the wardrobe are eye candy. But I guess it’s because I love interior design and clothing.

I think it’s nice to have shows that feature women who have careers they enjoy, fears and insecurities, openly discuss women’s health, and talk about dating after being married or in a relationship for many years. I know plenty of women who have re-entered the dating pool and it’s scary. In a scene from the show, Grace ducks out of an online date when she sees the man and realizes he’s not her type. I think lots of people would like to say, “Check, please” when that happens, but are too timid and polite to do it.

I am wondering how this is going to end or if it will have another season. Part of me is thinking the marriages will repair themselves and things will work again. I hope that doesn’t happen. I also am a bit confused about the relationship between Grace and Robert’s daughter Mal and Frankie and Sol’s son Coyote. It’s sounding like they have a child together or had a child that didn’t make it or something. I’m guessing it will be addressed before the final credits roll. If you are looking for something interesting to watch, give it a try. If you are like me, you may wish to set aside a stretch of time!

July 2015 update: The show has been renewed and the new season will appear on Nexflix in 2016.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Pizza Noosa Yoghurt

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachelsilva83  |  May 19, 2016 at 6:28 pm

    I agree the show is very good, but what I started to notice was how amazing the interior design was on the set. Some scenes with Grace, for example, highlight certain colors. One I noticed right away was blue – with accents in her clothing, her phone, accessories, and even some speckled in the backdrop of the decoration of the room. It seems very thoughtfully curated. Another time I noticed this was when Frankie went to Brianna’s office to negotiate the deal for the organic lube. There were accents of magenta, red, deep plum, and pink- not only in the clothing but in the interior design. It makes the scenes dazzle and subconsciously projects their personalities through the screen. Maybe the interior design is just spectacular and I am somehow trying to link the two themes- design and personality projection, but I would like to think it was more thought out than just a good interior decorator, if only for my satisfaction.

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  April 5, 2017 at 3:56 pm

    How can I find the robe Grace wears on the show? It is a black and white print. Any ideas?

    Reply
    • 3. jinnyus  |  June 29, 2017 at 1:49 pm

      I’m not sure. I did ask Jane on Twitter about her wardrobe, but she didn’t reply. I LOVE her stylist!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


