Pizza

March 1, 2015 at 5:29 pm Leave a comment

Could I ever get too much pizza? I don’t think so. I love pizza…in fact, I just sent the little man to Dominos to pick up the one I ordered online. I like the tracker on the website. What kind of pizza do I realllllly like? I will eat just about anything, but I am not a fan of pepperoni. The nice part is that I can pick it off without ruining the pizza. But, I will eat almost any pizza, though I am not keen on frozen, cardboard crust versions.

I had some really good pizza last month at Dewey’s. My friend and I ordered half and half, so we could try two flavors. One was called Wild Mushroom with olive oil, minced garlic, mozzarella-fontina blend, mushrooms, Portobello mushrooms, oyster mushrooms, shitake mushrooms, capers, roasted red peppers and the other was the Caprice with olive oil, minced garlic, light mozzarella cheese, mushrooms, goat cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, green peppers, and fresh tomatoes. Both were good, but the addition of the goat cheese on the Caprice really added a tasty edge. The pizzas there were interesting and there were lots of options for more than your typical pizza joint offerings.

I love going to places that do wood-fired pizzas, generally because they have yummy combinations of toppings and thin crusts. I like thick crusts and even deep dish, but the wood-fired pizzas have a more distinctive flavor than pan pizzas. In Rochester, my former neighbor’s restaurant, Benucci’s, always has great pizzas like Artichoke and Pear and Gorgonzola. If you’re in Chicago, you can barely walk a block without seeing a pizza place. My current haunt is Reno Chicago with their Butternut (more butternut, please) and T. O. with chicken and peanut salsa.

Pizza I miss is from Balistreri’s in the Milwaukee area. It’s without a doubt my favorite pizza, from the cracker crust to the marinara sauce. Plus, it’s loaded with veggies, but they aren’t overwhelming in flavor.  If you are in that area, you need to try the pizza and the deep-fried eggplant! It’s a must whenever I head back to Wisconsin.

Pizza’s here and my thin crust, marinara sauce, peppers, mushrooms, onions, diced tomatoes, and black olives is really good!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Jackets Grace and Frankie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


