Vegetarian Cookbooks

October 26, 2014 at 5:34 pm Leave a comment

As I’m writing this, I’m eating Shepard’s Pie, a recipe I found in Mary McCartney’s cookbook Food: Vegetarian Home Cooking. The gravy for this is unbelievably flavorful and who doesn’t like cheddar mashed potatoes? I checked out the book at my library, because I don’t want to buy something that only has one or two recipes I might like. This is the second recipe I’ve tried and as I was perusing the rest of the book, I decided to buy it. Can’t wait to try her mom’s lemon loaf cake! Oh, yes, she’s THAT Mary McCartney…daughter of Paul and Linda. Mary’s recipes are easy to make and don’t require hard to find items, which I really appreciate. The little man is not a fan of veg recipes, but I heard him scraping his plate to get alllll the yummy gravy into his mouth. He’s now eating a second helping!

Am I a vegetarian? Not totally. The only meat I don’t eat is red. Sorry, cows. But, I believe that it is healthier to eat more veg than meat. And if I find a recipe, like the one above that has lots of vegetables and even veggie crumble, I’m more than satisfied with my meal. My favorite burger joint let’s me swap out the burger for a black bean burger in any of their interesting combinations. I really like that, too. Is the little man totally sold on the idea of going straight veg? No. He does like meat and sometimes comments that a recipe would be better with a little “chicken.”

What other vegetarian cookbooks do I like? I started out buying all the Moosewood cookbooks and they do have some good recipes. I’ve even eaten at the restaurant in Ithaca. My favorites are Quick-Fix Vegetarian: Healthy Home-cooked Meals in Thirty Minutes or Less and my favorite is Rachael Ray’s 30-Minute Veggie Meals. Note to Rachael…write another one! I do make a lot of other Rachael Ray recipes and just leave out the meat. She cooks the way I like to eat, quick and fresh.

Today, after buying Mary’s cookbook, I also bought Naked Kitchen’s Veggie Burger Book: Delicious Plant-Based Burgers, Fries, Sides, and More. There are even some good drink recipes like one with pineapple and coconut and one with watermelon.

If you have ever thought about trying out some vegetarian recipes, I’d recommend heading to your library or looking online. I read Vegetarian Times and Veg News, both of which have great seasonal recipes in their magazines and websites. But it’s also great to have some wonderful cookbooks on hand. If you have a favorite cookbook, please share in a comment!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Pandora and Freegal Music Bernie Rhodenbarr

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


