Excalibur Dehydrator

September 21, 2014 at 2:02 pm 1 comment

Fall is a great time to gather the harvest, but what do you do when you have too much to use? You can freeze or can it, but an easier way to preserve it for future use is to dehydrate it! I bought my Excalibur Dehydrator years ago and though I don’t use it a lot, it sure comes in handy. And there are some items that taste a whole lot better than what you can buy in the store.

Recently, I used the dehydrator to preserve my tomato crop. There was no fast way to use up 20 tomatoes at one time, since they all seem to ripen simultaneously. I brought them in from outside, washed and sliced them into 1/4-inch slices, carried them downstairs to the dehydrator (picture 1). I placed them on the drying racks, giving them a little space between, set the temperature at about 130 degrees, and set the timer for 9.5 hours (picture 2). There were a few that weren’t completely dried when I checked, so I removed the done ones and set the dehydrator for another 30 minutes to finish them.

IMG_5454 IMG_5455 IMG_5463

What did I get? (picture 3) Nicely dried tomato slices that I will eat au natural or add to dishes, like sun-dried tomato pasta with butter, pepper, chopped flat leaf parsley, and freshly grated parmesan or Asiago. It’s a great side dish. You can add your favorite seasonings to the fresh tomato slices prior to dehydrating them, if you want a snack with a little kick.

How much does a dehydrator cost? How big is it? I got mine from Excalibur. It’s the five-tray basic model with a timer and currently costs $249.00. It’s 8-1/2″H x 17″W x 19″D and doesn’t take up too much room. You can buy larger sizes, too. I keep it in my basement on a cart, so it’s already ready to go. The unit comes with a small cookbook, so you can get the right info on dehydrating all kinds of foods. You can even make fruit leather!

excalibur dehydrator

What are my favorite dehydrated foods to make? Bananas and pineapple. Bananas starting to go bad? Slice them into 1/4-inch slices and they will come out in somewhat chewy rounds that taste soooo much better than store bought. The same is said for pineapple. When my store sells freshly cut core sections, I take it home, slice it up, and dehydrate for a very tasty snack. I like kale chips, too. Lots of little amounts leftover vegetables can be dehydrated and then tossed into soups or stews. It’s a great way to preserve foods that might normally go to waste.

I store my dehydrated foods in tightly sealed glass jars. The foods will last for ages and ages. No preservatives are needed, so the foods are the perfect snack for those who like to eat healthy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Alone time Pandora and Freegal Music

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kitchen Gadgets | Jinny's Favorite Things  |  January 30, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    […] need to buy. So, what are my favorites? I’ve talked about my Kuhn-Rikon garlic press, the Excalibur Dehydrator, silicone pot holders, and Wusthof knives. But I also love […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


