Graham Crackers

June 28, 2014 at 6:09 pm Leave a comment

I like how Word Press asks what’s on my mind, because tonight, it’s graham crackers. I’ve been on that kick lately. Usually, it’s a winter comfort snack for me, but since I didn’t have many over the winter and I recalled that recently, I’ve been eating some now.

How do I eat them? My mom taught us to dip them in milk, wait a few seconds and then eat off the part that’s slightly soggy. Then, re-dip and repeat the process until the cracker is gone. And believe me, you’ll want to go for another dunk and realize the whole cracker will have found its way down your throat already. At which point, you’ll get up and head for the box.

I usually start with a third of a cup of milk…I use a coffee mug, and about 6 cracker halves. Notice that I said start, because I rationally think that will do the trick and satisfy my craving. At least I’m burning a few calories as I walk back to the pantry. This isn’t an amateur dunking event. You do need to pay attention to the length of time the cracker is in the milk; not long enough and it’s not saturated and still crunchy, too long and you will only be holding the dry portion of the cracker in your hand. And I NEVER drink the remains of the milk. Overly soggy bits of crackers in my milk is not appetizing.

I used to babysit for a family where the mom would suggest a breakfast idea for the kids, which was smashing up a bunch of graham crackers and topping them with milk. It’s the equivalent of leaving the cracker in the milk for a few seconds too long. Gross. I would make it for the kids, but not partake.

Everyone knows about some of the other reasons one might eat a graham cracker. My mom also treated us to graham crackers coated with a thin layer of butter. Yum! It’s that sweet and slightly saltiness that tastes great. Who hasn’t had a S’more? This Pinterest page has tons of ideas.

One of my favorite comfort snacks, which I haven’t made in ages is Praline Crackers. When my daughter was a teenager there were times when we’d look at each other and know exactly what the other was thinking…and it was to make some of these.

9 whole graham crackers
1/2 stick butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup chopped pecans, optional

Heat the oven to 325 degrees. In a small saucepan, heat the butter and brown sugar and stir until it starts to boil. Place the crackers on a cookie sheet next to each other in three rows of three (you can line it with foil). Pour the cooked mixture over the crackers and top with pecans. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Serve warm. Mmmmmm…great with a class of milk, but no dipping.

Here’s another idea that involves a cracker, but not graham. My father taught us to use saltine crackers as dippers for eating vanilla ice cream. Sounds gross? Try it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Envisioning Kuhn Rikon Garlic Press

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


