GPS

April 26, 2014 at 7:44 pm 1 comment

Gotta love a GPS when traveling. It just makes life so much easier. I have a Tom Tom, that does a nice job, even though it’s about five years old. I do update the software from time to time, which helps, but I know at some point, I will have to let it go, since it won’t be able to hold the newer software. The good news is that my iPhone has Google Maps, and I use that, too. But, there are times when I can’t get a decent enough signal from one or the other. That’s a bit annoying. When I go to places I’m not really familiar with, I still take an atlas as a back up.

On my way back from Chicago recently, I was thinking about how things have changed over the years when it comes to travel. As a child, I paid zero attention to direction, primarily, because I wasn’t driving. When I started driving, I lived in an area that often didn’t have street names, so you received directions like this, “Do you know where Linda G. lives?” If the answer was yes, this followed, “Okay, then turn left and go until get to Debby K.’s house.” The problem of not knowing where Debby K. lived was solved like this, “Well, you go until you see the big white barn that has a pasture on the left. There will probably be a blue truck in the driveway. And they have a red silo. Turn right and go until…” That’s how I got around in the great north woods.

Once I moved to a big city, I learned the street names, which helped with directions, but I never mastered the freeway numbers. I think it’s because I grew up with sights as my guides. Now, that problem is solved, because my Tom Tom, in a pleasant British accent guides me. “In 500 feet, turn left. Stay on the left lane and take the motorway.” It’s a miracle! No more getting lost and ending up in Michigan on my way home! As long as I have signal, I can get anywhere. If I don’t have my Tom Tom, I have my guided phone app. Westward, ho!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Silicone Pot Holders HBO Series

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. theelliottquest  |  April 26, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    We are quite spoiled with technology now :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


