Silicone Pot Holders

April 7, 2014 at 6:58 pm 1 comment

silicone grabber silicone grip WDYI love these things! Gone are the days when I’d burn my hands from cloth potholders, even heavy duty ones from Williams-Sonoma. There was nothing worse than having a cloth potholder that would get a bit wet and then, when I’d use it, the heat from the pan being removed from the oven would cause the wet spot to steam and burn me even more. Totally annoying. But, now that I have a variety of silicone options, I don’t have those issues anymore. Plus, if you get something on them, they’re simple to wash and come clean every time. They’re even dishwasher safe.

Which ones do I like? I started out with the square ones that have bumps on them, but they are a bit unwieldy. If you’re not careful with those, you can still get burned, because they don’t form to your hand very well. I still use them, but as trivets for hot pans. My preference is for the small ones that slip over your fingers and them. They have bumps on them to help diffuse the heat and they grip really well. I love them! I also love my new iron skillet protector. No more burned hands from the handle getting too hot.

It’s sad, but all those cute colored loom, crocheted, or washcloth style potholders may look nice, but I no longer have burns from using them. Give me the silicone! By the way, there are some cutesy styles with ears and eyes, but I’d probably avoid them, as they may get in the way.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The Incredible Dr. Pol GPS

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kitchen Gadgets | Jinny's Favorite Things  |  January 30, 2016 at 8:38 pm

    […] are my favorites? I’ve talked about my Kuhn-Rikon garlic press, the Excalibur Dehydrator, silicone pot holders, and Wusthof knives. But I also love […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


