Wusthof Knives

November 24, 2013 at 5:02 pm 1 comment

When I got married…many moons ago, I got a nice set of wooden handled knives as a wedding gift. They worked pretty well for a long time, but eventually got dull. I haven’t sharpened them, because I was afraid to make them even duller or jagged. So, I remedied the issue by buying a few Ginsu knives from those demo guys at the state fair. They still work, but again, over time, even they have dulled and when I try to slice something like a butternut squash, I’m taking my life in my hands, literally. I’m always afraid I will snap the blade or slip and take off a finger.

What do I use now? Wusthof Classic. My son, who enjoys cooking, wanted some decent knives, so I have been buying him knives as birthday or Christmas gifts. A while back, I was using a reasonably priced Santoku knife I got at Homegoods, and unlike the Ginsus I didn’t trust, it snapped off, just after the handle. I could have gone back to Homegoods and spent more money on a knife that wasn’t overly sharp and at some point would no doubt break, but instead, I bought a Wusthof Classic knife on Amazon. It’s a Santoku style, which should release more easily when cutting meat, cheese, etc. I never knew a knife could be so sharp! I cut my fingers three times in a matter of months. I just wasn’t accustomed to a knife that could cut through something as tough as a squash like it was butta’. I have since learned to respect and appreciate the quality of an implement that does its job with ease.

There are many quality choices when choosing a Wusthof product. You can often find the knives at stores like T. J. Maxx or Homegoods, but also at the following retailers:
Williams-Sonoma
Crate and Barrel
Chefs Catalog
Amazon
Cutlery and More

There is a lifetime warranty as long as it’s not just from normal wear and tear or your abuse.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Carter’s Outlet Christmas Decorations

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


