Avocados

November 10, 2013 at 3:50 pm Leave a comment

If you saw that word and immediately thought, “Nasty,” you might want to give them another try. In the past, I thought the same thing. They do have an odd texture and for me, that was part of the reason I didn’t care for them, but now? I love them! If they are ripe…not underripe and hard as a rock or overripe and black and watery. When they are perfectly ripe, they really can be yummy and not just in guacamole.

When I go to Hawaii, I always eat at the Coffee Shack on the Big Island. It’s a great place for a light snack or lunch. In their backyard is the most amazing avocado tree I’ve ever seen! It’s huge and they even put catch nets below to catch the fruit as it falls. The last time I was there, I wanted to use one of those golf ball retrievers and snag a few avocados off the tree! I’m sorry I didn’t take a photo of it. Next time, I will. Of course, the Coffee Shack will add avocados to any of their sandwiches or you can order one on the side.

How do I like to eat them? Often times, I just scoop out the flesh, add a little salt and pepper (Jane’s Krazy Mixed-up Pepper is a nice touch), and a dash of balsamic vinegar. It’s not a bad snack. And, avocados may contain about 234 calories, they also are loaded with 3.1 grams of fat, but the good kind, potassium, fiber, vitamins A, C, and B-6, and magnesium. I prefer the Haas variety over the Florida fruit, but it’s personal preference.

How do you know if an avocado is ready to eat? It should give slightly when pressed. You don’t want it to give too much or it will be nasty on the inside, kind of black and brownish. I have learned through experience that too ripe is worse than underripe, but then, if it’s not ripe, it has less flavor and it’s hard. Buying can be a bit tricky. For Haas, look for darker skinned fruit. If it’s too green, you can let it ripen for a few more days at home. So, if you haven’t had an avocado lately, pick up one the next time you’re at the grocery store. Add it to a salad or sandwich, make your own guac, or you can do what my adventurous daughter does…use them for mock chocolate pudding!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Tastefully Simple’s Almond Pound Cake Carter’s Outlet

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


