Peace and Quiet

September 8, 2013 at 6:04 pm 1 comment

Okay, this is a rather odd post, but right now, as I’m typing this, my other half is in the other room listening to some shoot ’em up, blow ’em up movie. In my house, it’s pretty much impossible to escape the noise, unless he’s gone or wearing his amazing Rocketfish headphones, which he hasn’t lately, because ‘the batteries won’t hold a charge.’ That can be remedied on my next trip to Target. So, as a result, I have to listen to background noise I’d rather not hear. I find it annoying…truly annoying…like fingernails on a chalkboard.

I have never been someone who enjoys background noise, whether it’s Muzak or a radio. Even as a teen, I couldn’t listen to music while studying. Why? Because I would start singing along and all those dull history facts I was supposed to be memorizing would be lost to “She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah.” I am perfectly fine without the TV on as I’m puttering around the house. I don’t need noise for company. Occasionally, I’ll listen to music as I clean, but mostly, because my life is filled with noise, I prefer quiet. Some days, when I’m done with chores around the house and I’m here alone, I sit back in a comfy chair and relish the quiet…albeit, the refrigerator or furnace may be running. It’s rare to have zero noise. But, overall, there’s no other manufactured noise. I can hear sounds of cicadas, birds, crickets, and other natural sounds. It’s serene and calming.

And no, I don’t want to be deaf. I just like hearing birds chirp, the sound of waves, rain falling, (nix on thunder), or every now and again, the music of my choice. It’s one of the reasons that when I travel with the little man, I get him a Playaway or he takes his iPod, so he can listen to something and I don’t have to listen to music I’d rather not hear. I will not name some of my least favorite songs on earth, but they show up regularly on the station he listens to the most.

I don’t think wanting peace and quiet makes me a bad person, though I think some people find it odd. Do you like it when the grocery store plays a song you can’t stand? Or you’re at the dentist, stuck in the chair, and they’re playing a style of music you can’t stomach? I think being held captive to music that hurts your ears is torture. It’s like watching a TV show that’s flooded with commercials. Thank heavens for the DVR!

While you’re going about your week, really stop and listen to what’s going on in the background. Are you being bombarded with unnecessary noise? Take some time to enjoy peace. Let your own thoughts be the music in your head.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Freezer Jam Zinio – digital magazines

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Audrey Waldo  |  October 13, 2013 at 7:39 am

    It was great having you home “Up Nort”. I am sorry some plans were changed for you. We roll with the punches right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


