Freezer Jam

August 26, 2013 at 6:26 pm 1 comment

I don’t eat a lot of jam, but when I do, this is what I want on my toast, crepes, pancakes, or pb & j. The name doesn’t sound very appealing, but the taste is soooo much superior to canned or purchased jams. So, what is it? Well, you take fresh fruit and mash it up, add some sugar (I prefer the low sugar variety), add some pectin, stir it together, pour it into jars, and toss them in the refrigerator or freezer, hence the name.

Is it that easy? Pretty darn close. I made peach freezer jam over the weekend and because I didn’t see the Sure Jell box I was used to seeing for the low-sugar variety, I went with Mrs. Wage’s Low Sugar. Major mistake. I think I have done this before with peaches and obviously didn’t learn my lesson. Mrs. Wage’s said to stir together 1.5 cups sugar with the bag of her pectin. I did. Then, I added 11 peaches that I chopped up in my Cuisinart. I stirred the three ingredients together, poured them into ten 8 oz. jars, let them sit on the counter for 30 minutes, per instructions, and popped all but one in the freezer.

Well, I tried the jam on toast today and it was soupy…not the way it’s supposed to be. Major disappointment. The flavor was yummy…freezer jam tastes fresh to me. It seems to keep that fresh fruit flavor much better than the other jams. But, the consistency of the peach jam was not correct. With Sure Jell, the sugar and pectin are cooked and then added to the mashed fruit. Mrs. Wage’s says NO COOK right on the package. I think cooking would have helped create the thickening it needed.

Did I learn something from this? Yes! I will use Sure Jell next time. The little man would like some strawberry jam and I can use store bought berries with great results. My store had the Low or No Sugar Sure Jell, but I wasn’t sure it would be okay for freezer jam. I just looked online and I should have bought it. Oh, well…anyone need some really tasty peach sauce?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Smashburger Peace and Quiet

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Toast | Jinny's Favorite Things  |  April 24, 2016 at 3:24 pm

    […] What’s the best jam? Homemade freezer jam. Haven’t had freezer jam? Read my previous post. You will NEVER want any other kind. Summer is coming and it’s the perfect time to make […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


