VRBO

July 27, 2013 at 6:55 pm Leave a comment

If you’re like me, you really may prefer vacationing in a house and not a hotel or resort. Since I have zero idea of what’s available for rent in a given place, I go to VRBO (Vacation Rental BY Owner). There are other websites to choose from, but this site works for me. Choose a state, city, or area and then add some filters to narrow the search. You can add the dates of your vacation, too. I think it’s a great way to find a place to stay that makes it seem more like your own vacation home.

Not sure about a place? Read the reviews…granted, the owners can filter out the bad ones, but you will often get an idea from the good ones as to whether the place is decent or not. I recall reading reviews about a few places that had dampness or musty odors. I appreciated seeing that, because I was able to dismiss those homes, since though others wrote nice things, I took those comments into consideration. I don’t like musty houses.

What do you generally get with a property? Some places are on lakes or at the beach and the owner provides linens, towels, dishes, cooking utensils, and many times they have pool tables, hot tubs, and Wi-Fi. They usually spell it out fairly well, so read through the entire listing. In addition to what will be included in the rental, the site offers calendars to show vacancies, photos at the top and bottom of the page, any cleaning fees, seasonal rates, etc. Often, there’s a blurb about the owners and contact info, so you can ask questions.

Why do I like staying in a house better than resorts or hotels? It’s just my family around me and I don’t have to share the pool or amenities with anyone else. I like more room to move about, a real kitchen with a dishwasher, so I can prepare food and clean up more quickly, and a place to park my car that doesn’t cost me an extra $25 a night. If you’ve never tried VRBO, check it out to see if you can find a place in your next vacation destination.

The last place where my family stayed had a pool, a hot tub, three bedrooms, two baths, a fully equipped kitchen with dinette, formal dining room, original art, screened porches, games, reading materials, washer and dryer, and a multi-tiered deck down to the lake. It was wonderful!

For major cities, try airnb. People will give up their house or apartment and you get to use it for often times, less than the price of a hotel. You can also try Trip Advisor.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Picardie Tumblers Rabbits

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


