Cheese curds and Mars Cheese Castle

July 7, 2013 at 6:55 pm Leave a comment

I admit itcheese curds…I’m a cheesehead. I grew up in Wisconsin and my grandparents were cheese makers, so it just fits that I love cheese. Every time I visit the motherland, I have to get some cheese curds to bring home. The little man loves them, too. The first time I took them to work, my co-workers thought I was saying cheese turds. Of course, they thought that sounded gross. Once I explained what they were (cheese before it’s aged and shaped) and the correct name, they dug in. Now, whenever they hear I’m going back to WI, they rub their hands together and say, “Cheese curds.” And, if they don’t have any at the Green Bay airport, I’m in trouble. Luckily, this time, I got them at Mars Cheese Castle  in Kenosha and they always have a supply. Mmm, deep-fried cheese curds…warm, gooey cheese…yum! You can order products online, but they can’t ship perishable items when it’s over 85 degrees outside.

What else can you find at Mars Cheese Castle? Tons of stuff, from Wisconsin souvenirs to New Glarus beer. They carry mustards, jams, jellies, candy, wine (including Simon Creek’s Cherry wine), snacks, cheeses, sausages and meats, kringles and bakery items, and you can even have lunch there.  The place is generally packed with people getting their Wisconsin fix.

Speaking of Wisconsin fixes, when I was at Kopp’s getting frozen custard, a car with a NJ license plate pulled into the lot. A man ran into Kopp’s to get a cone. I guess he’s a former Milwaukean and knows good custard when he tastes it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Family Photos Picardie Tumblers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


