Family Photos

June 22, 2013 at 3:30 pm 1 comment

Wallis Simpson once said, “You can never be too rich or too thin.” I think she should have  added ‘or take too many photos.’ I love family photos! I don’t think you can ever have too many. Digital cameras make it so easy and convenient to snap away and ensure you have a decent shot. Plus, you can delete the bad ones (unless you need to save them for blackmail later one…just kidding). If my mom had had a digital camera when I was young, there would have been tons of pictures of me. Because film was expensive to develop and I don’t think my parents even had a camera, there are about six photos of me as a child. Yes, that’s not a typo. And, of those few photos, all were fuzzy.

Since I also love genealogy, having family photos is a bonus to add to my research. You can match a photo to a family member and they become more than a name. I actually have a photo of four generations that goes back to my great-great-great-grandfather. It’s clear and still in really good condition, since it’s a studio photo. My ancestors took a lot of photos over the years and many did have people in them. My grandparents on my father’s side took a lot of photos, but many were of sights, flowers, and dogs. That’s a shame to me, because we lived next door and there are so few of us during that time. In fact, there is not one single photo of our only cousins on that side with us. I find that shocking…that no one ever thought, “Gee, we should get the kids together for a photo.” They would probably slap their foreheads in disbelief, if they had the chance for a do-over. Oh, well…hence my point. Take a lot of photos!

What do you do with the photos you take? Are they stuffed in a shoebox, sitting on your computer or worse yet, still on the SD card in your camera? There are so many ways to share the best photos you take. You can create albums using websites like Shutterfly, Snapfish, or Bookemon. You can put them together in a PowerPoint slide show that can be saved and shared. You can even us MS Word to make collages or use a scrapbook program. Obviously, you can simply print them out and put them in a photo book, like people have done for years and year.

Here’s a tip my grandfather taught me. Write the date and the names of the people and/or place on the back of the photo. That was a lifesaver when going through the family photos for my genealogy research. I know it takes time, but it’s really important, because at some point, someone will be looking at the photos and wondering where you took them or have no clue who the people are in them. Having names on family photos helped me identify people in the ones with no information on the back.

Here’s a tip from my mom…when you take photos and email them, please take a few minutes to send some printed versions. She likes having the photos or photo books to look at while lounging on the sofa. She doesn’t like having to try to save them to her computer or sit at the computer to look at them. Is your mom the same way? I know I prefer being able to pick up photo album or book when I want to reminisce. Guess I got that from my mom. And if your mom is like my mom, she will expect you to keep your word and send the printed photos. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Edy’s Outshine Coconut Waters and Fruit Bars Cheese curds and Mars Cheese Castle

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. digital photography courses  |  June 27, 2013 at 2:05 am

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to
    drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great
    blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


