External Hard Drives – a MUST

May 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm Leave a comment

I know you have a computer…in fact, you may have more than one, and of course, you save stuff to your hard drive. Perhaps, you even use a flash drive to save stuff. Maybe you’ve even backed up important files to CDs from time to time. No? No? You’ve never backed up any of your files? Tsk. Tsk. tsk. There comes a time when your computer decides it’s tired of starting up and it would rather not start up at all…ever again.

Been there! A few years ago, my trusty computer that was about five or six years old, started making a ticking noise when I turned it on. Hmmm, what was that? A bit of dust in the fan? Something loose? Well, it ticked and then voila, it came on. Being a techy of sorts, it made me nervous. Machines that aren’t supposed to tick and do tick mean something is amiss. I thought about the ‘wait and see’ approach, but I know better. And, as Maya Angelou says, “When you know better, you do better.” So, what did I do? I ran to Best Buy and bought an external hard drive. I wasn’t fussy about brand, I just needed something NOW. I ended up with a Seagate 1 terabyte model. I hurried home, plugged it in and backed up all my files. The next day, when I tried to start my computer…dead. And I mean dead, dead. It wouldn’t budge. WHEW! I was soooo lucky I had backed up everything to that external, because though I had backed up some files, I hadn’t done it recently and some of the most important files on my computer are family photos, which are added regularly.

So, what’s the lesson to be learned from almost fiasco? Back up your files regularly. It’s a simple process with an external hard drive. No CD hassle, trying to figure out how much will fit, especially when you have large files. I know you can back up to a cloud server, but I haven’t gone there yet. I don’t really want my files floating out there, because I feel like they may not be very secure.

As a final point…you really do need to have your important files backed up on more than one device…even an external can fail. If you are carrying your resume and all your important documents on a flash drive, be aware, aside from losing it, it can fail, just like a hard drive. As I always say, “Saving means never having to say you’re sorry.”

P. S. I took the hard drive out of my computer BEFORE I took it to recycling. I didn’t get the chance while it was still working to wipe it clean. It’s a privacy thing, because I didn’t want anyone to be able to get to my files.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Olive Oil French Onion Dip

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


