Olive Oil

May 18, 2013 at 5:04 pm Leave a comment

When it comes to cooking, I try not to use much or any oil, but if I do, it’s generally olive oil and light oil at that. I’m not a fan of olive oil that has a heavy flavor. I almost find it annoying and it can ruin the flavor of my meal. My darling daughter did bring me a bottle of Cave de Fayence’s Huile d’Olive Vierge Extra Fancy when she was in France and I did like that. It was the Fruitee variety and didn’t have a strong taste.

I didn’t grow up using olive oil, it wasn’t one of the ten things I could buy at our local grocery store, but since I’m a huge Rachael Ray cook, I’ve been using it more often. Rach (kind of like Cher, Bette, Barbra), calls it EVOO (extra virgin olive oil), which annoys some people, but not me. It does work well for anything you’re cooking that doesn’t require really high heat. Tomorrow, I’m using it to make a nectarine and basil caprese salad, a take on one of the little man’s favorites. Speaking of my other half, he makes popcorn the old-fashioned way and often uses olive oil instead of canola oil. I’m going to try to switch him to coconut oil, so wish me luck! I think it would work well and give him some added health benefits.

Sooo, what’s my favorite olive oil brand? Whichever is on sale…generally Fillipo Berio or Bertolli. As long as it’s the extra light variety, it’s allllll good.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The Wizard of Oz External Hard Drives – a MUST

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


