Cookies

April 21, 2013 at 10:11 am Leave a comment

I love cookies! I could probably live on cookies, if they were good for you. I can’t think of much that’s better than a warm cookie, right from the oven, unless it’s cookie dough…which I do eat…though don’t tell my sister, since she’ll yell at me for eating raw eggs. Some days when I’m at work, I just crave a cookie and until recently, the only ones available were the hard ones I could buy from a vending machine. My place of employment now has a café and on Thursday, I had an amazing chocolate, chocolate chip cookie. I’m sure it wasn’t homemade, but probably a pre-made dough that just got baked, but it was fudgy and yummy! And I’m not usually a fan of chocolate cookies.

What is my all time favorite cookie? That’s a hard choice. I have too many favorites. Macaroons. Coconut Oatmeal Crisps. Shortbread. Nutmeg Logs. Cranberry Oatmeal. Nabisco Lorna Doone. Girl Scout Samoas. Keebler Fudge Stripe, Sugar and Spice, Sugar Cookies, Chocolate Chip, and Russian Tea Cakes. Those are just off the top of my head. Some of those are store-bought, but they’re still yummy.

How do I like my cookies? Soft, for the most part. There is nothing worse to me than biting into a cookie that crumbles into dust. I like them to break into pieces, but soft chunks. Unless it’s something like a shortbread, in which case, it should be crunchy. If I am going to bake something, and I rarely do anymore, due to calories, it would be cookies. When I do have some in the house, it’s nice to have something that I can grab on the way out the door or have with a cup of tea. As a kid, I used to dunk chocolate chip cookies into Mom’s coffee. I liked the combination. Haven’t done that since I was a kid, mainly because I don’t make coffee. Dunking in tea is not the same.

Why do I like the dough? Sometimes I prefer it to the baked cookie! Dough is yummy and yes, I’m sure not safe to eat, but I’ve been doing it my entire life. I’m not advocating that you do it! My sugar and spice cookie dough is like candy. And really, chocolate chip dough is better than the baked cookie. When my kids were little, I would get hungry in about the middle of the afternoon and my thoughts would turn to making cookies. I always wondered why a batch of 36 only yielded about 18 cookies. I thought perhaps I made them too big, but when I contemplated the amount of dough I was eating, it all fell into place.

Another great way to eat a few cookies, but not low-cal, is to make an ice cream sandwich. You can even ‘recycle’ hard cookies in this way. Put a scoop of ice cream between two cookies and schmoosh them until the ice cream comes to the edges of the cookies. Wrap in plastic wrap and store in the freezer for an hour or more. You can even roll the edges in decorating candies like chocolate jimmies for some pizzazz.

And then there are bars, which are somewhat like cookies…brownies, lemon bars, Dream bars, blondies, and cream cheese brownies. I was going to try a new recipe today, but I just looked at my phone and I accidentally deleted it. I think it was peanut butter something… Drat!

Check out my Recipes’ page for some of my favorites. What’s your favorite cookie or bar?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Hallmark Ragu

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


