Hallmark

April 14, 2013 at 6:24 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been a fan of Hallmark since I was a teen. It’s one of those stores that I can wander about for quite a while, looking at cards, wrapping supplies, stationery, gifts, and more. Some stores are better than others, but I have two decent ones near me. The variety of what you can buy is amazing.

There are no real gift shops near me. I find it odd, but I can really only think of one. So, when I need a gift for someone, I generally shop online. But, I check Hallmark first. My stores carry purses, watches (it’s less expensive to buy a $8 watch, than a new battery for an existing one), jewelry, photo albums (does anyone use them anymore?), figurines, baby gifts, fancy glassware, Melissa and Doug toys, puzzles, outdoor accessories, candles, ornaments, and of course, greeting cards. Last year at the holidays, I found some neat stocking stuffers, like a beverage cap opener, a mini-measuring cup for tablespoon amounts, and colorful socks. Yes, at a Hallmark store. It was convenient, since I was already there for wrapping paper and ornaments.

Since my children were born, I’ve been buying them a new ornament each year. I thought it would be a good way to commemorate each year of their life and build a collection for their own Christmas trees when they got to that point. Hmmm, do either of my adult children actually put these ornaments on a tree? I’ll let you take a guess. I started collecting the Nostalgic Houses and Shops for my daughter and the Classic Cars for my son. I have missed a few years…including the first car in that series. Ooops. I keep waiting for them to retire both series. The houses started in 1984 and the cars in 1991. I started collecting the Jack-in-the-Box series for myself, but they discontinued that. Of course. I will start a First in a Series collection this year for my newest grandson, if they have something I like.

One thing that Hallmark has been giving away for free, ever since I can remember, are little pocket calendars. I pick one up every year for a co-worker who likes the size. Going to a Hallmark store evokes memories of my youth, when I used to spend a lot of time coveting stationery, since back then, we wrote letters and notes. And we sent a lot of greeting cards. I think it’s sad that handwriting is going by the wayside. A personal note that arrives in your mailbox is so much better than junk mail or bills.

If you frequent your local Hallmark, get a Gold Crown card. You can earn points and get money toward whatever they sell. I LOVE getting money back! The little man just shakes his head. He just doesn’t understand a bargain!

They do offer online greetings, too. You may also check out one of my other favorite places to buy stationery, wrapping paper, etc. – Current.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Washing Windows Cookies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


