Being a mom

February 23, 2013 at 7:24 pm 2 comments

I love being a mom, even though my children are adults. It’s the only job I ever wanted to have and I will never regret having made the choice to have children. Sure, it was challenging at times. In your head, you picture your children as perfect little offspring who always say, “Yes, Mom, I’ll be glad to clean up my room and eat my peas” or “I’ve finished my homework, would you like me to help fold laundry?” Some [people may have children exactly who behave exactly like that, though I don’t think it’s the average scenario. Most kids are kids who want to have fun, don’t like peas, and aren’t keen on helping around the house. But, it wasn’t the reason I had children. I had them, because I had a wonderful mom and could see that we brought joy (for the most part) to her life. She loved doting on us and did her best to give us a wonderful life. I wanted that experience and a bit selfishly, someone who would love me the way I loved my mom. I have that. And I would not change it for all the money on earth.

For those of you who may be thinking about becoming parents, it is a huge responsibility, both financially and emotionally. It’s somewhat like gambling…you never know who you will get…someone easy to raise or someone who will give you premature gray hair. A large part of how they turn out has a lot to do with how they are raised, but not always. Sometimes, genetics or personalities can overrun all your best efforts. Sometimes, it’s necessary to get outside help. But mostly, it’s remembering that YOU are the pack leader. When I’m out and about and see children behaving badly, it’s often the parent who is behaving badly or letting the child call the shots. Children need to be taught respect and how to behave. it doesn’t come naturally. I will get off my soap box about childrearing. Mostly, children need love, protection, boundaries, and less sugar.

If you are a mom (or dad), remind your children how much they mean to you on a regular basis, no matter how old they are and don’t forget to add some fun! And now…I’m a grandmother! The best is yet to come!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Minute Tapioca Hawai’i

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich W.  |  February 28, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Then why do you complain about them all the time? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Most Recent Posts


