Raw Honey

January 12, 2013 at 2:10 pm Leave a comment

I read a while back that raw honey is really good for you, so I have been buying pint jars of this liquid gold from a co-worker’s grandson who has bee hives. I like raw, because it’s not been heated or pasteurized, which can kill some of the health benefits. Why is it good for you? Let me count the ways:

It has anti-viral, anti-bacterial, and anti-fungal properties. It can help promote good digestion. It also can give your immune system a boost, decrease the impact of allergy issues, and can even be used to rub on cuts and scrapes. It can help relieve the pain of a sore throat, ease coughing spells, lower bad cholesterol, and turn back the clock on aging skin (I keep forgetting to rub it on my face as a mask, which is something I want to try for two weeks straight to see if I notice any difference.)

One tablespoon of honey can provide 17 grams of carbs, which might be helpful to those who do lots of exercise. It also contains a wide range of B vitamins and vitamin C.

So, what is honey? I’ve heard it’s bee poop or bee vomit. Neither sounds appetizing. Well, from what I’ve read, bees have a separate stomach for nectar collection. So, yes, they regurgitate the contents of the collection stomach, but it’s separate from their ventriculus, which is where digestion takes place. The answer is that it’s not poop and it’s not like a human guzzling a Pepsi and hurling it up to turn it into something else. Bees have different organs to do the job. TMI? Perhaps.

So how do I best enjoy honey? I’ve tried it by the spoonful to aid in digestion (often doesn’t help. I think sweets are the culprit for my issue), on peanut butter sandwiches (makes the bread almost crunchy, which is a nice combo with the peanut butter), or my latest way to eat honey, which is Beekman 1802 Raw Cinnamon Creamed Honey on buttered toast. Yum! I’m getting blood sugar lowering properties of cinnamon with my honey. It’s a great combo!

Due to the possibility of bacterial spores, honey isn’t recommended for children under the age of one, but you should check with your pediatrician first.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Crabtree and Evelyn (and difficult pronunciations) Snapple

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


