Crabtree and Evelyn (and difficult pronunciations)

January 6, 2013 at 12:09 pm Leave a comment

Here’s one of those pesky pronunciation names…is it EVE-lin or Ev-uh-lun? It’s EVE-lin. But, that aside, I love their products. I’ve been buying their soaps for a long time, even though of late, I have switched to Trader Joe’s rip-off of my favorite Green Tea soap from Pre de Provence for my bathroom. It’s wonderful!

Back in the 1970s, I started buying a soap called Fairy Queen from a Mayfair mall kiosk in Wauwatosa, WI. I loved it. It reminded me of a soap my Grandma had and it was a clean scent with floral notes. The soap was sold along with lots of Crabtree and Evelyn products. After a while, the kiosk could no longer get Fairy Queen (I just did a search online and the only soap that appeared was not the right one). I was bummed, but what’s a quality hand soap lover to do? Find an alternate. I switched to Crabtree’s Goatmilk soap. I also tried some of their other soaps, like Summerhill, Lily of the Valley, Jojoba, and Aloe vera. They all have fatty properties, which I happen to like, since they’re less drying than the bath bars most people use as hand soap, like Dial. I like to have nice hand soaps in my guest baths, but of late, I’ve switched to pump soaps from Bath and Body, because I think people are more comfortable using pump soaps. But, when the current ones run out, I’ll switch to Method pump soap, because it’s less drying.

Other products from Crabtree that I really like are their hand lotions and lip butters. They carry some intensive hand lotions like the Gardeners Age Defying Remedy. It’s like very thick Vaseline, in a way, but not as greasy. Plus, it has a nice fragrance and I’m all about the fragrance. There are lotion options, too, like the Pomegranate, Argan, and Grapeseed Ultra-moisturizing version. They all go on well and absorb in nicely. Plus, they make your hands feel smooth and supple. I like that. Their lip butters don’t leave me with dried lips after I’ve licked them off.

Crabtree and Evelyn has a men’s line, some facial products, and a slew of other products. They even offer gift baskets for that hard-to-buy-for person. They also run specials, so you can watch for those, if you want to get great products at a discount.

P. S.  A few other names that seem to pop up with incorrect pronunciations are:

  • Porche (I hear this one pronounced incorrectly all the time, but it’s ‘por-cha)
  • Ralph Lauren (it’s Lauren, just like the girl’s or boy’s name. I always hear Lau ‘REN. Nope. Ralph is American, so no fussy accent.)
  • Fage (my favorite yogurt at the moment is pronounced fa-yay)
  • Hermes (air-mays)
  • Stella Artois (stella ar-twa)
  • Kinerase (kine-er-ace, with a long i)
  • Zagat (za-gat, with gat sounding like cat)
  • Stila (stee-la)
  • Sacony (sock-a-nee)
  • Guerlain (gehr-lehgn, almost sounds like gehr-lon)
  • Lululemon (it’s really lulu-lemon)
  • Adidas (Americans say Ah-‘deed-uhs, but the German company pronounces it ‘Ah-dee-dahs, almost sounding like la-di-dahs.)
  • Givenchy (it’s zhee-vahn-she)
  • Miele (Mee-la)
  • L’occitane – (locks-e-tan. I heard the company founder say this one).

I guess pronouncing incorrectly bothers me, because my name is often viewed as Jimmy, Jenny, Jeannie, etc.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Fruitcake Raw Honey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


