Fruitcake

December 30, 2012 at 5:48 pm Leave a comment

I know what you’re thinking…GROSS! Hockey puck! Doorstop! Well, you haven’t had good fruitcake. This year for Christmas, I asked for Beekman 1802 fruitcake. I waited until yesterday to try it. Mistake! It was so amazingly good, that I immediately went online to buy more. I truly love fruitcake and I will eat just about any brand, but this one takes the cake! I had read on the Beekman Boys’ site that their fruitcake was the best, but I’ve had Assumption Abbey’s, which is also rated the best, and though it was good in a traditional way, the Beekman’s cake was outstanding. As I was taking the last bite yesterday, I got a piece of dried apricot and that was a crowning touch to this almost pound cake like delicacy. It’s brushed with apple brandy and I will be continually brushing with more brandy and storing it in a tin to enjoy it in the coming months. Properly preserved, fruitcake will last until next Christmas…but highly unlikely that will happen with this one.

But, alas, when I went online to order a few more, as backups, nothing popped up on the website. I panicked. Surely, there were some left, since not alllll that many people like fruitcake. I searched the site a second time.  Perhaps it was an error. Same result. What to do…what to do…I called the store. I knew they were open, because Josh Kilmer-Purcell was supposed to clerking at the Beekman 1802 Mercantile in Sharon Springs, NY. Brent Ridge answered the phone and when I asked about the fruitcake, he told me there was only ONE left! I took it. I will have to wait until next year to get another one and so will you, if you wish to try it. And you should.

Mark your calendar now to order a fruitcake in November 2013. You won’t be sorry. The combination of the cake and the mix of dried fruits is far superior to anything you can buy elsewhere.

There are other items at the Beekman 1802 store you need to try…the Stick of Butter to soothe dry lips and hands, and the Cinnamon Honey. As Brent pointed out, you need to try the honey on buttered toast. Bet you can’t eat just one slice! I didn’t. And, if you’re in the market for fragrant goat’s milk soap, cheese, or other unique gifts, check out the Beekman 1802 Mercantile website or stop at the store. They have a cookbook, too! Josh Kilmer-Purcell has written two books of his own, including The Bucolic Plague, about his experiences with Brent and becoming part of The Fabulous Beekman Boys.

P.S. Yes, it’s the goat farmers from The Amazing Race. I was so glad they won! It couldn’t have happened to two nicer guys! They showed that nice guys can win!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Tortas Crabtree and Evelyn (and difficult pronunciations)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


