Christmas Music

December 8, 2012 at 9:27 pm Leave a comment

Right now, I’m listening to a Christmas radio channel while I finish my Christmas cards. There have been times in my life where I really didn’t want to hear any Christmas music. That, thankfully has passed. I’m hearing a Chipmunks’ song right now, and actually, I don’t mind it. There are some tunes I like better than others.

What are some of my favorites?

Dean Martin’s “Baby, it’s Cold Outside.”
Frank Sinatra’s “Jingle Bells.”
Perry Como’s “Little Drummer Boy.” My dad had a Como holiday album and it’s always been one of my favorites, because it reminds me of when I was little and Christmas was the most magical time of the year.
The Chipmunks, “Christmas Don’t be Late.”
Linda Ronstadt’s “River.” This is a kind of haunting Christmas ballad.
Carly Simon’s “The Night Before Christmas.” This would be a fun song for a caroling group on a snowy night.
The O’Jays’ “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?” A great song to dance to with someone you love…when you’re alone…and the fire is going…and the lights are low…and you’ve had some good eggnog with a little Captain Morgan’s Rum.
Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas.”
Eartha Kitt’s “Santa Baby.”
Elmer Fudd’s “Silver Bells.” I don’t know that this is available anywhere, but I know I saw a clip with him singing, “Sweigh belz wing, aw woo wistening?”
Wham’s “Last Christmas.”
Louie Armstrong’s “Zat You Santa Claus?”
John Lennon’s “Happy Xmas (War is Over).”
Burl Ives’ “Holly Jolly Christmas.” I just heard him singing another Christmas song the other day and I was thinking about how he had a very distinctive voice. That’s my hallmark for a good singer, you need to have a unique voice.

Other songs I like are (I’m not fussy about who sings them):
“The Christmas Song”
“Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
“All I Want for Christmas is You”
“Do They Know it’s Christmas”
“Do You Hear What I Hear?”
“We Three Kings”
“What Child is This?”
“Oh, Holy Night”

One of the songs that often makes me feel sad is “I’ll be Home for Christmas.” It doesn’t matter who sings it. I’m never really home for Christmas and when I was younger, it was a sad reminder that I wasn’t.

On Christmas at this house, we turn on the Christmas channel to play holiday music while we open gifts. It’s been our tradition for a long time. It will be the same this year!

Do you have a favorite Christmas song that speaks to you?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Maggiano’s Little Italy Restonic Mattresses

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


