Turner Classic Movies

November 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm 2 comments

When I’m home and have a few moments (hours) to spare, I channel surf to see if there’s anything on TV that intrigues me…often the answer is no. But, there are times when I check out TCM and find some old movie I haven’t seen in a while or perhaps never and sit down to relive or enjoy it. My favorite would be comedies, but I’ll watch almost anything with William Powell, Claudette Colbert, Cary Grant, Susan Hayward, W. C. Fields, Myrna Loy, etc. I even enjoy some of the old Joan Crawford movies, though the one I watched this morning – Queen Bee, was some of the poorest acting I’ve seen from her. Her hair, makeup, and wardrobe were equally bad. But, that aside, TCM often does showcase some wonderful films. To top it off, you can head to http://shop.tcm.com/ to buy a few holiday gifts. I especially like the boxed sets that include my favorite stars.

What don’t I like about TCM? There are a ton of movies that don’t appeal to me at all and most are war-related or dramas. On a rainy day, my thoughts turn to a cup of tea and a good movie and when I check out what’s playing and it’s Battle of the Bulge or The Dawn Patrol, I’m definitely turning the channel. Obviously, I’d rather it be Do Not Disturb, Topper, or some other entertaining film. Happy films can brighten a dull day.

One of the best things about TCM? NO COMMERCIALS! I used to watch AMC, but once they went to commercials, I stopped. Yes, I have a DVR and can fast forward through them, but still, with TCM, I don’t have to do that. Thanks, Ted Turner!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Cartmel Sticky Toffee Sauce Brownies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. K  |  November 22, 2012 at 7:28 am

    I’m addicted to TCM. I almost can’t watch anything else. From the glamour, to the stories, no modern TV shows seem original to me. I love it, and the lack of commercials make it even better. When I do watch contemporary TV, I start to get depressed at the state of the world. I prefer the older days, even if they were before my time.

    Reply
  • 2. kleeyaro  |  January 3, 2013 at 8:40 am

    My TV is on TCM all the time. Even if it’s just in the background while I’m doing something else. Can’t get enough TCM either!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


