Clotted Cream

May 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm Leave a comment

My mom went to England many years ago and when she came back, I asked what her favorite food was while there, she said, “Clotted cream.” I thought it sounded disgusting, like curdled cream. But’s it’s not. It’s something the British spread on their scones, generally with jam. I’d say it’s a cross between whipped butter and whipped cream, but it’s so smooth and creamy and doesn’t really taste like butter or cream. It does seem a little bit sweet. My mom couldn’t explain the taste and neither can I. When I have it, I really don’t want to stop eating it. It’s borderline addicting, and I’m sure very fattening. I ate about three big tablespoons on my last day in England at a tea shop in Marlborough. I was kicking myself for not finding a place earlier in the week that served it. I ate it multiple times on my first visit to England and couldn’t believe I had forgotten about it. Duh!

Where do you get it? In the UK. I’m sure you could probably find it in NY or a major city, but I’ve never seen fresh clotted cream on this side of the pond. There is a jarred product called Devonshire cream, but I haven’t tried it. I don’t think it looks fluffy or creamy in the jar. If you ever go to England, you know something you have to try!

Speaking of English food, I have been there twice and have yet to have bland and boring food. I’d like to know what the people are eating when they say, “Take some granola bars, because you’ll be hungry.” I’ve tried lots of British staples like mushy peas, steak and kidney pie, fish and chips, banoffi pie, Victoria sponge cake, bangers and mash, traditional English breakfast, and more and have yet to taste anything that isn’t flavorful and tasty. And I’m a picky eater. I ate at a castle’s cafeteria and all the food was homemade and excellent. I can’t say that about our cafeteria food. Maybe I’m just making good choices at restaurants, but I don’t think that’s it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Rachael Ray’s Recipes Rocketfish Rocketboost Wireless Stereo Headphones

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


