Beige

April 21, 2012 at 12:19 pm Leave a comment

I was just sitting in my study and I turned my chair to look into the entry, living, and dining rooms and what did I see? LOTS of beige. The flooring, walls, and even the living room furniture – all beige. At first, I was startled, but then I remembered I LOVE beige. I don’t like beige clothes, but in home decor, I obviously do. The walls and carpeting in the study are beige, too.

A long time ago, I started paying attention to the rooms in my decorating magazines as a way to determine more about what I liked. I tore out page after page and started a file. And, no surprise, the rooms that spoke to me were beige. Once I noticed this pattern, I studied the images to see exactly what it was about the rooms that appealed to me. I would have to say it was the simplicity, cleanness, and calming effect.

The best part about beige…it goes with everything! You can take a beige room, like my living room, and add a punch of color by changing out the pillows and accessories to get a whole new look. Beige is a great backdrop for art and for those who like to change things up for the holidays.

In my bedroom, I have an ivory matelasse, dust ruffle, and shams. When I moved into this house, I found Euro shams in a floral pattern I liked, chose a paint color from that, and added throw pillows in coordinating colors. At the moment, I’m planning on changing my scheme, but it will be simple, because all I have to do is get two new Euro shams and a handful of throw pillows, a new paint color for the walls, and the room will be done. Using beige actually saves the little man some cash and he’s alllll about that.

If you are struggling with your home’s decor, try looking through current decorating magazines for ideas. If you don’t want to buy a bunch of magazines, head to your local library and snap photos with your smartphone of the pages you like best. After a few months, you’ll start to see a pattern emerge of rooms that appeal to your senses.

Even though I love beige, there are days I’d love to flip a room with a can of chartreuse paint! I love that color, too, but I can use it in accents and change it up when I feel the need to jazz up my spaces with a new color like tangerine. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

iPhone Apps Rachael Ray’s Recipes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


