HGTV

April 8, 2012 at 1:55 pm Leave a comment

I don’t watch much normal network TV, but when I’m taking a break from cleaning or am in the mood to veg with a cup of tea, I will turn on HGTV to see who’s on. There’s almost always a feast for the eyes or a helpful tip for a home project. Last week, I watched Sabrina’s Soto’s Clean Freak. Because I am a neatnik, this show was right up my alley. But, whoa…those people were waaaaay more into organizing that I am. One lady had plastic, labeled bins in her freezer to keep like items together. There were other handy ideas, like hanging a towel bar in a closet to keep your scarves handy, turning a hall closet into a mini-mudroom, and a tip my friend Becky also uses – 3M velcro strips to hang wall art (easy to hang and prevents damaging the wall).

Other favorite HGTV staff? In addition to enjoying all the shows with the ever perky Sabrina Soto, I like Candice Olson – she can decorate my house any time she wishes. Call me, Candice! She surely has a ‘Wow” factor in her designs. She has authored books and has her own line of furniture, fabric, wall coverings, and more.  I’m currently in love with Scott McGillivray – his income property renovations are amazing. I don’t need to rent out any space in my house, but I would love for him to finish my basement. Every project is bright and crisp and for the most part, I think the owner’s would rather live in his redesigned space than their own. Bryan Baeumler cracks me up. His sense of humor, combined with his tremendous remodeling skills make his shows fun to watch. Sophie Allsop and Anthony Sayers make The Unsellables, all about home staging, an enjoyable show. Anthony is a calming force with sensible contracting skills. Like a bit of wild design? Try David Bromstad. This season one HGTV Design Star winner is also a talented artist. He makes painting wall art to go with the room design look effortless. Property Brothers and Kitchen Cousins are good, too. I would let any of these people re-do my house!

I also get sucked into seeing how the other half lives with House Hunters International, Selling LA, and Selling NY. I’m amazed that housing is so expensive around the world and it makes me wonder what the salaries are that go along with those prices. It’s always fun to see “John and Sally have a 20,000 sq. ft. home in Palm Springs, and a camp-sized lodge in Aspen, but are looking for another vacation home on a tropical island within their $700k budget. Will they find it?” Of course they will. And it will be amazing.

So, the next time you have a few minutes (or an entire morning) to kill, check out my pals on HGTV. You’ll learn something new that could add another dimension to your home. One last tip from Mike Holmes from Holmes on Holmes – check out a contractor’s work and references prior to hiring someone to make sure the work is done right – the first time! I just subscribed to HGTV Magazine. I can’t help it…I love decorating!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Pancakes and Waffles iPhone Apps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


