Pancakes and Waffles

March 31, 2012 at 8:57 pm Leave a comment

I was watching Pioneer Woman’s cooking show this morning and she was making breakfast for dinner. That’s pretty much me…though I could enjoy breakfast for lunch, too. My favorite thing to eat for a breakfast dinner? Pancakes or waffles. And I love French toast, but I don’t make it very often.

Pancakes is my quick fix when I’m feeling like a comfort meal. I don’t even need sausage or bacon to go with them, just pancakes and syrup. Oh, and make that Log Cabin. I really am not a fan of real maple syrup. I prefer, as my daughter would say, “The fake stuff.”

My pancakes aren’t from a box, either. I need to make them from scratch, with buttermilk. And like the Pioneer Woman, I use a bit of butter to fry them. I think she likes a lot of butter. Her cooking reminds me of Paula Deen’s show, lots of butter. According to my sister, almost everything is better with a stick butter and extra eggs.

Here’s my recipe:

2 cups buttermilk (you can use plain milk)
2 eggs
2 tablespoons melted butter or vegetable oil
2 cups of flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
You can add a tablespoon of sugar, but I save the extra calories for the syrup

Mix the buttermilk, eggs, and melted butter together. Add the dry ingredients and stir until smooth. Pour small amounts into pan that has a little melted butter to keep them from sticking. When bubbles just start to appear, flip. It’s an easy recipe and it will feed four hungry people. It’s easy to cut this recipe in half for fewer people or myself, if I’ve had a realllllly stressful day.

Mmmmm, I’m getting hungry just thinking about pancakes. You can use the batter for waffles, too. Mmmm, breakfast for dinner.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Public Libraries HGTV

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


