iTunes

March 12, 2012 at 6:34 pm 1 comment

How music has changed over the years. Back when I was a kid, I heard music via the radio (WLS, thanks Art Roberts (RIP) and Larry Lujack!), TV (loved American Bandstand and Where the Action Is), or by purchasing albums or singles with my babysitting money. The drawbacks? Up in the sticks where I lived, the ‘LS signal was often weak, so music faded in and out, the TV shows were only on once a week, and due to my limited funds, I didn’t own a lot of vinyl…though I still have every record. Many are worn, so they’re about as scratchy as a bad radio signal. (My first record purchase? “Bad to Me” by Billy J. Kramer and the Dakotas. Funny, but I bought it in South Dakota and protected it carefully in the back of the station wagon on the trip home to Wisconsin. As I was getting out of the back of the vehicle in our driveway, my hand accidentally rested on the 45 record and cracked it! Luckily, once I snapped it back into position, it played with only a few ticks.)

Okay, the point of this entry is that now, I can go to iTunes (or other services), search for the musician of my choice or give a listen to new music, download it to iTunes, and upload it to my iPhone for a small fee. A 45 record was about 50 to 99 cents and a song from iTunes is usually 99 cents to $1.29. That’s not bad, considering how much time has passed (and I’m not saying.) The best part for purchasing music from an iTunes’ album is that you can skip the duddy songs. There aren’t too many albums that don’t have a few songs that make you want to go “Huh? Don’t like that.” The best, best part? You can still listen to music on the radio, but with iTunes, you can have your music whenever and wherever you want to hear it. There are no records to scratch or break. No storage issues. No having to tape pennies to the needle arm of the record player to help improve the sound quality. It’s allll good. Music to my ears.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Pickles My 101st Post

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. cricketmuse  |  March 12, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    I know I date myself when I say I grew up with vinyl tunes. What a hassle to move the record collection in all those apple crates! But the cover art and liner notes–weren’t they great?
    Thanks for stopping by,
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


