Pickles

March 3, 2012 at 6:48 pm Leave a comment

I’m not normally a huge pickle fan. As a kid, I did like to buy those huge dill pickles, like the kind they used to sell from a barrel. Not such a fan anymore. The little man LOVES dill pickles and his favorites are Milwaukee Midget Dill. The kids and other relatives know about his obsession, so when they are driving to our area or we are driving to theirs, they pick up a few jars for him. I, on the other hand, prefer homemade pickles. He does like my mom’s refrigerator pickles, as does my entire family, but I miss the pickles from yesteryear…the sweet and sour wax beans my aunt used to make, the spiced crab apples my grandma made, or the sweet watermelon chunk pickles my mom also used to make. Sometimes, my mom will still can pickles, but it’s dependant on finding people who grow small enough pickling cucumbers. I MISS homemade pickles!

Back in the day, a meal wasn’t complete without a relish tray that included carrot and celery sticks, black and green olives, and homemade pickles. Who does relish trays anymore? I thought of it the other day and I know I don’t do them anymore. But I will bring back the tradition at my next dinner.

I have a jar of Mt. Olive Bread and Butter Chips in the pantry and that’s the closest I have found to the ‘real’ thing. They do make a good, and fairly low-calorie snack when you’re looking for something sweet. You can pile them on a hamburger, too. I like the sweet ones better than the dill, but Mt. Olive makes a lot of varieties to choose from, including relish for the hot dogs I rarely buy anymore. Want a good, inexpensive Chicago-style hot dog? Try Sonic! That was a pleasant surprise.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Snack Factory Pretzel Crisps iTunes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


