Nutella – not a good thing

February 11, 2012 at 10:35 am 1 comment

I know, I know…the title says it’s not good, but I mean in a healthy way. Taste? Reallllly good! Until a few weeks ago, I had never tried it. Never even gave it a second look on the grocery shelf. When I saw it sitting there, it reminded me of Vegemite, which I have tasted and it’s an acquired taste…not to my liking. So, seeing Nutella didn’t turn my head. Even the name isn’t compelling to me. What does it mean? If it had been called Choconutto, I’d have probably picked it up a long time ago.

I had heard some people talk about it in the past and did see TV commercials for it, but it was in regard to putting it on bread along with Marshmallow Fluff. Not a big fan of the Fluff, because it’s too sweet for me. I knew Nutella was chocolate and I couldn’t imagine eating it on bread, since that’s not a combination that naturally clicks in my head.

The subject of Nutella was mentioned at work recently and since people RAVED about it, I decided to give it a try. Mmmmm-mmm. Sure is tasty. The smooth, creamy chocolate with a hint of hazelnut is a winning combination. People at work talked about making sandwiches with it, putting it on a cracker, but seriously? Give me a spoon. I don’t need to put it on anything. Downside? Here’s the bad part. Two tablespoons are 200 calories and 100 of those are from fat. Ugh. I tell myself that I’m taking it out of the container using a teaspoon (not a measuring teaspoon), so really I’m not eating even a whole tablespoon, but when I look at the amount on the ‘teaspoon’, I’m sure it’s probably a tablespoon. But, if I don’t eat it everyday, it is an okay treat when I need a hit of chocolate. Good for you? Not so much. But it sure is tasty!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Books Betty Crocker Angel Food Cake

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ian Beaumont  |  February 11, 2012 at 11:27 am

    100 Calories a spoonful…seriously!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


