Books

February 5, 2012 at 5:01 pm 3 comments

I have to admit that I can’t walk into a store that sells books without buying something. I love books. Yes, I do have some on the Kindle app on my phone, but I still prefer paper books. The problem I have is that I spend tooooo much time online and not enough time reading. Oh, wait…I’m doing that right now…again.

I have so many books right now, that I will never read all of them. I often think, ‘They will come in handy, if I ever break a leg or have to have surgery,’ but frankly, when I’m sick or in pain, I can’t read. I can’t even usually watch TV. The only thing I want to do at that point is sleep. So, perhaps the ‘save the books for a rainy day’ option isn’t my best plan. But I keep on buying books. The other day, I picked up Marlo Thomas’ newest book, Growing Up Laughing. Bought a few for the little man’s birthday, too.

I wouldn’t say it’s an obsession. I’m just buying a few books to save for my retirement reading, which granted, is a handful of years away, but the books will be there. Will I still want to read them? Not sure. I imagine I will.

Since I work in a library, I reallly should check out more books. I try to do that. Sometimes. I’m reading Diane Keaton’s book, Then Again, and I did get it from the library. It’s probably best to skip buying books I won’t likely read again, which is probably most of the books I own. It’s rare I ever re-read anything. I don’t have time. I’m the hostess of a book group and I generally struggle to get through the monthly book. This month’s book was David Wroblewski’s The Story of Edgar Sawtelle. Spolier alert: I was angry at the end of the book. No, I didn’t want it to be predictable, but seriously, did pretty much everyone have to die?

I’m also reading one of my favorite books from my youth. I downloaded it to my Kindle app, so I can read it when I have a moment. The title is Houseboat Girl by Lois Lenski. I was hoping it would be re-published, but it hasn’t. It’s available as a vintage collectible, but that’s it. Another Lenski book, Shoofly Girl, was another favorite. They’re gentle books that cover places and people around the country in the 40s to 60s. The stories have stuck with me.

I’m not planning on getting rid of my book collection anytime soon, but if I ever have to move, I will have some decisions to make. I have over 17 feet of cookbooks alone…and most of them sit on the shelves. In the meantime, some of the books are decorative accessories in the family room, reference types are in the study, and some of my favorites, are stored in boxes under my bed. What’s my favorite book? I have too many to count. I tend to like gentle reads like The Number 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, memoirs, and books that help me be a better individual, including Cheaper by the Dozen. I think I would have liked being a time efficiency expert.

Soapbox – Libraries are coming under fire in my area for having too much money or for being a waste of taxpayer dollars, and it’s a shame. They do provide tons of materials, programs, and computer use for everyone, including those who need it most. Fewer taxes mean fewer services for all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Teapots and Tea Nutella – not a good thing

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cricketmuse  |  February 5, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Oh, I have found another Book Booster. Aren’t books amazing! I used to work in a library, and I miss being surrounded by Words, Words, Words. I hope you will stop by and add your name to the Book Booster list.
    Blue Skies,
    CricketMuse

    Reply
  • 2. A Novel Idea  |  February 5, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I share your sentiments. I can’t go into a bookstore without buying a book that catches my attention. I love to read – most profusely – but with school, the computer and television, there hardly seems to be enough time to actually do the thing I love to do the most, which is read. I have piles of books just waiting to be read, and I only hope that I’ll finally be able to get through them all.

    Reply
  • 3. Rich W.  |  March 11, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Books are a fairly good obsession to have, so don’t worry about admitting it. They are the original social-networking tool and won’t be supplanted anytime soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


