Raw Nuts

January 3, 2012 at 7:22 pm Leave a comment

Hmmm…just as I wrote that I realized it could be misconstrued. I’m talking about the raw nuts you can buy at places like Trader Joe’s. I like raw nuts, because they don’t have salt on them. Lately, they’re the snack I reach for when I get home from work and need a little something to take the edge of my hunger while I’m making dinner. My favorite raw nuts? Almonds. And I reallllly like them when mixed with dried cherries. There’s something very tasty about the sweet/savory combination. I also like raw cashews, though they’re more fattening. I’m thinking I need to ramp up my nut intake with the antioxidants found in walnuts, but I prefer almonds. I keep thinking that I’ll do what my cousin did and make some walnut butter to spread on celery. It was tasty and easy to do…just toss some walnuts into a mini-food processor and whir until smooth. Easy and good for you!

Due to the higher fat content, I wouldn’t recommend eating too many nuts. Nor would I suggest getting your nut quota like I did today by eating baklava. Well, there is honey in baklava, which means in addition to the antioxidants, I got some probiotics too…in a wonderfully, yummy way!

The best way to store nuts? For about a 2-week supply, keep them in a sealed jar. You can also store nuts in the freezer, which will keep them from going rancid, due to natural oils.

Here’s more info on nuts:

Walnuts – 1 oz. = 14 halves 185 calories, 4 grams of protein, 19 grams of fat. These are high in omega-3 fatty acids.

Almonds – 1 oz. = 23 nuts 163 calories, 6 grams of protein, 14 grams of fat. Almonds are a good source of vitamin E.

Peanuts – 1 oz. = 28 nuts 166 calories, 7 grams of protein, 14 grams of fat. These are actually good without salt. Who knew? They are slowly digested and help balance blood sugar levels.

Pistachios – 1 oz. = 49 pistachios 158 calories, 6 grams of protein, 13 grams of fat. Pistachios help lower cholesterol levels. These are the little man’s nuts of choice. He prefers salted ones, but they are not good for his blood pressure.

Pecans – 1 oz. = 19 halves 196 calories, 3 grams of protein, 20 grams of fat. Pecans have lots of helpful antioxidants. Does that mean eating an entire pecan pie would be healthy?

Hazelnuts – 1 oz. = 21 nuts 178 calories, 4 grams of protein, 17 grams of fat. Hazelnuts have lots of B vitamins, and can help lower blood pressure.

Brazil nuts – 1 oz. = 6 nuts, 186 calories, 4 grams protein, 19 grams total fat. They are high in saturated fat, but can help eliminate free radicals that lead to cancer.

Macadamia nuts – 1 oz. = 11 nuts, 204 calories, 2 g protein, 21 g total fat. Another very fatty nut, best eaten in Hawaii when you are finished doing water sports.

Cashews – 1 oz. = 18 nuts, 157 calories, 5 g protein, 12 g total fat. Cashews are high in saturated fat, but have decent levels of magnesium and copper, important for a healthy immune system.

So, the next time you’re looking for a small snack, grab a few of our nutty friends and toast good health!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Old and mostly deceased movie stars Another baby gift

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


