Halls and Vicks

December 18, 2011 at 12:05 pm 1 comment

Ah, yes…I’m at work and what do I hear? Not the pawing and prancing of eight tiny reindeer, but the coughing and hacking and sneezing of my peers. It’s that time of year when the world comes down with colds and flu. How do I stay healthy? I wash my hands…a lot. I try to eat well, get enough sleep, and if I feel the slightest bit stuffy, I suck on a Halls Defense. It’s their vitamin C drop and I highly recommend it. And, if it’s too late for that? I definitely use Halls cough drops to help ease the symptoms. That bit of eucalyptus helps me breathe more easily. Plus, they taste okay, until some of the cough medicines that are a struggle to get down.

Another tip I heard from a co-worker – if you’re awake due to coughing at night, try Vicks VapoRub on the bottoms of your feet. Yes, it sounds messy, but rub on the Vicks and cover with a pair of old socks. People swear that it helps prevent nighttime coughing. Try it and let me know!

Feeling bad while down with a cold? Make some homemade chicken soup. It really does help. Add about 8 cups of water to a big pot. Toss in a package of chicken parts on the bone. It can’t just be breasts, you need the bones. To that, add the following chopped vegetables, 1-2 onions, 1-2 cups of celery, 1-2 cups of carrots, 2 cloves of garlic, and season with salt and pepper. Simmer until the meat is fully cooked. You can turn up the heat until it boils, add noodles and cook until the noodles are done (see package directions). It’s simple and soothing.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2012!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Christmas Movies Old and mostly deceased movie stars

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jinnyus  |  December 27, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    I wrote this post just in time. Guess what I got for Christmas? Yep. A cold. Halls helped ease the stuffiness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


