Magazines

November 6, 2011 at 10:35 am 1 comment

I love magazines. I love magazines so much that when I fly, I take a book with the intention of reading it on the plane, but what do I do? I walk into the convenience shop at the airport to get a bottle of water and end up buying the latest InStyle, etc. Why? Because unless the book I’ve dragged along is thoroughly engrossing, I’d rather read a magazine. I like quick articles that one can read in about 5 minutes and turn the page to find something new and different.

I started reading magazines like Life and Look when I was a kid. As a young adult, I moved on to Family Circle and Woman’s Day, because they were cheap to buy and had tips on just about everything, from cleaning to health. I gleaned so much general information from those magazines. Then, I really started subscribing and added Ladies’ Home Journal, Good Housekeeping, McCall’s, Nat. Geo., Time, Rolling Stone, House Beautiful, House and Garden, and so on. I was getting 13 subscriptions at one point, and with children, I didn’t have the time to read all of them, so I cut back considerably.

Throughout my life, I’ve continued my magazine addiction with lots and lots of trial subscriptions (those are the best deals – 12 issues for $7? I’ll almost always bite). I’ve tried Town and County, Veranda, Yes, Utne Reader, More, Martha Stewart Living, Everyday Food, Us, People, and so on. My current subscriptions are to Architectural Digest (been a subscriber for longer than I can recall, though I think the new format is a bit cold), Traditional Home, Vegetarian Times, Reader’s Digest, Real Simple, O, Prevention, Midwest Living, Cincinnati Magazine, Everyday with Rachael Ray, and Yes. The little man gets two golfing magazines, but I don’t think he ever reads them.

Magazines I can’t live without:

  • Arch Digest – I love beige rooms and there is almost always a beige house. I like seeing big, expansive homes. What I’d like to know is how people afford them? If only 2% of all US households earn more than 250K a year, who owns ALL the very pricey homes in all the decorating magazines?
  • Trad Home – I like their style
  • Reader’s Digest – the jokes don’t often make me laugh, and I don’t like the tear-jerker stories, but I like health updates, profile stories, and Word Power. I miss C. F. Payne’s art on the back covers
  • Midwest Living – though I no longer live in the Midwest, it’s where I was born and lived for many years, and I have found some interesting vacation spots from reading the mag
  • Mary Engelbreit Home Companion – it’s defunct, but I LOVED her magazine

I work in a library and I’ve heard all the talk about print publications dwindling, but I still like reading print. I can pick up a magazine (or a book) when I have 10 minutes or during the 2-minute commercial, and glean helpful/interesting/entertaining information. When I’m done with a magazine, I take it to work for the staff and after that, it goes to a community center. Most subscriptions are very low in price, when you look at the overall value, so as long as they continue to print my favorites or generate new ones, I’ll keep reading.

Christmas is coming…consider a magazine subscription! They make great gifts for kids, too. Check out Discount Magazines – they offer lots of magazines for $5.95! I use them every year to purchase and renew. I used to get Arch Digest for $5.95 a year! They have discontinued that deal.  😦

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Beer Chocolate

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ian  |  November 6, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    It’s an addiction – you need help:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


