The Fabulous Beekman Boys

March 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm 2 comments

I’m not a huge TV watcher, but I happened to hear about this show last spring and decided it looked interesting. Yes, it’s a ‘reality’ show, so if you can’t stand those, you can stop reading  now and check back here next weekend for my new favorite update.

If you are interested in seeing a show about two guys who decided to become gentlemen farmers, this is a good show for you! I admit, I somewhat have the ‘pioneer woman complex’, where I would like to live on farm. Okay, those of you who are cracking up right now, probably don’t know that my father married a woman who lived on a farm, so I did spend some time in my youth on a dairy farm (with my three siblings and 11 step-siblings). I love rural settings. The air smells cleaner and everything just looks brighter. I love laundry fresh from the clothesline, tomatoes, warm and perfectly ripe from the vine, and miles of nothing but pasture, dotted with a small herd of sheep or cows. Notice I didn’t say pigs. A friend lived on a pig farm, and though I lived by the ‘stinky farm’ of sheep in NY, it’s nothing compared to pig droppings.

Oh, my, back to the Beekman Boys. Brent and Josh (a former Wisconsinite and farm boy), bought a large home called The Beekman Mansion in Sharon Springs, NY. It’s beautifully restored and is home to a somewhat dramatic llama named Polka Spot and a herd of goats. Brent and Josh use the goat’s milk to make seasonal soaps and cheese. Actually, Farmer John, the goat herder, does the milking. The goal of this group is to be self-sufficient via products produced on the farm.

I really enjoyed last season and you can see episodes and outtakes here. The new season is on Tuesdays at 10 p.m. EST on Planet Green. I can get it on DirecTV, so it’s probably available on other providers too. I can’t wait. My DVR is all set and ready to record. I like the banter between Brent and Josh, Farmer John’s love for his goats, and Doug and Garth’s humorous one-liners. It’s fun, sad at times, and an interesting look at long-distance relationships. You can also check out Josh Kilmer-Purcell’s book The Bucolic Plague, which is a very entertaining look at their purchasing and living on the farm.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Craftsman Tools Birds Eye Steamfresh Vegetables

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rich Webster  |  April 17, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Give ’em a rest, already!

    Reply
  • 2. jinnyus  |  April 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    I LOVE the Fabulous Beekman Boys. As a matter of fact, I’m heading downstairs to watch the show I DVR’d this week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


