Honey Nut Cheerios and Special K

January 22, 2011 at 9:52 pm Leave a comment

I have to write about this pair, because when I’m away from home, I miss them, almost as much as my pillow. They’re the one thing I really look forward to on those cold and dark mornings when I have to get up for work. On the mornings when I get to sleep in, if I think about one or the other, I don’t fall back to sleep. Okay, so I think I’m addicted to them. I have been eating Honey Nut Cheerios for years and years and you’d think I’d be sick of them, but I’m not. I love them. Acutally, I’d like a bowl right now, but it’s almost 10:00 at night and the sugar would keep me awake.

I added Special K with Red Berries to my breakfast menu when I discovered I was still a bit low in the iron department. I donate blood and it was not fun to get onto the mobile unit and find that I was low, which meant rejection. Who takes rejection well? No one I know. It’s painful! It’s humiliating! It makes you hang your head and walk hunched over. You start pondering your existence. Woe is me is usually what plays over and over in your head, like that song you can’t stand and can’t turn off, even though you try desperately to replace it with one you do like. Oh. Sorry. Back to Special K.

What has kept me in the blood-giving zone? I think it’s Special K. It gives my body that little something-something it needs. Who knew I didn’t have to eat liver? Seriously, I wouldn’t eat liver, even if you paid me or smothered it with onions, mustard, or chocolate. Thanks to the iron in my cereal, I don’t have to worry about it anymore.

I will have to try to watch the amount I eat and have just purchased a box of regular Cheerios, because they don’t have as much sugar (I freely admit when I’m waking from that annoying alarm buzz, the thought of plain Cheerios doesn’t entice me into putting a foot on the floor). I was thinking about doing the Special K diet, but hello? I can’t eat such a small amount at one sitting. I’m not saying I eat a ton at one sitting, but it’s more than the allotted diet amount. For now, I’ll stick with my two breakfast buddies or their cousin, plain Cheerios. Mmmm, I love breakfast! A bowl of cereal and a glass of OJ and I’m a happier person.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Fels-Naptha Cherry De-Lite

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


