Fels-Naptha

January 11, 2011 at 8:34 pm 1 comment

You may be asking yourself, “What kind of foreign product is this?” Well, it’s soap…not just any soap, but soap for removing stains. I know, you can use Spray and Wash, another of my favorite products (which I will rhapsodize about in a future blog), but for basic stains, this soap works very well.

When I was little, my grandma used it to pretreat my grandfather’s white socks. He was a gardener and dirt managed to get into his shoes from time to time. But, his white socks were always white. No gray dingy bottoms, but white, pristine bottoms. How did Grandma do it? She wet the socks and rubbed them with Fels-Naptha and tossed them in the washing machine. Voila! When she pulled them out, they were bright white! I never forgot that.

When I got married and had to tackle laundry on my own, I bought a bar of Fels-Naptha and I have been buying it for 40 years. It’s great on lots of stains and it’s easy to use. Just wet the spot, rub it with the bar of soap, and launder as usual. Wonderful product and reasonably priced. You may have to bend down to the bottom shelf at the grocery store to find it. Hardware stores often carry it too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Barilla Honey Nut Cheerios and Special K

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Doing Laundry | Jinny's Favorite Things  |  December 29, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    […] quality detergent, like Method. You can pretreat with a variety of products, like the Clorox pen, Fels-Naptha, or Resolve. I do use dryer sheets in the dark load, particularly if there are knit or fleece items […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


