Pyrex

July 12, 2010 at 8:57 pm Leave a comment

Who could really love glass? ME! I love my Pyrex. Some of it has been around since I got married…a LONG time ago, and some of it has been recently purchased, but it’s almost as old as my wedding day sets. Why do I love it? Well, some of the colors aren’t my flavor, but I like the usefulness of it. I love my little stacking sets for storing leftovers. They’re much safer than plastic and can be used in the microwave and dishwasher. They’re not pottery that chips (took the bowl set back to Crate and Barrel) and can’t be washed in the dishwasher.

I even love my Pyrex measuring cups and baking dishes. Foods bake better in glass or pottery than they do in metal. No soggy crusts on pies, and no metal taste. If food gets baked on, soak them in hot soapy water and clean with a non-abrasive scrubber.

Simple, reuseable, and they last forever…except for that small covered dish that got left on the stove when there was an emergency in my neighborhood and I had to run out at see what was happening and when I got back, I lifted the now burning food off the stove and the dish was so hot it burned me through the pot holder so I dropped it on the floor and it broke and melted the linoleum. Whew…that was a mouthful.

I really wish Pyrex would go back to making Cinderella bowls, and stacking storage dishes again. I now have to hunt in antique and collectible shops to find them. The company is still producing storage, baking, and other wares, but no longer the wonderful products of days gone by. It’s a shame.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Lay’s Potato Chips Crest toothpaste

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


